Crafting is Good For You!

blogpost_mentalhealth.pngDid you see the recent article about how handcrafting is good for your mental health? According to researcher Betsan Corkhill, activities such as knitting can have an effect on the brain similar to meditation, offering “significant psychological and social benefits, which can contribute to well-being and quality of life.”

Being creative, whether via sewing, knitting, gardening, cooking, or other activities, can increase dopamine levels in the brain, leading to an increased sense of well-being. Another recent study cited by CNN shared that crafting can help relieve the suffering of those facing depression, chronic pain, and anxiety.

I’ll be honest: although I sew and create for many reasons, one of them is that it helps me tremendously to deal with a tendency towards anxiety. My husband struggles from similar issues and we’ve recently been talking about whether he could try knitting as a way to just quiet his brain and focus on being more present in the moment. I know when I am sewing the binding on a quilt, planning a new makeup bag, or creating a beautiful grouping of plants in the garden I feel calmer, quieter, and more focused. My monkey brain, as the saying go, shuts up for a while and gives me some peace. I suspect many people feel this way!

Want to learn more? Here are some great articles around the web you can take a look at:

Leave a Reply

