Happiness is Handmade

Hello! Welcome to Happier Handmade. I chose the title of this blog because it sums up my whole philosophy of being here – I find crafting and DIY to be a highly calming, soothing, happiness-enhancing activity in a modern world that often seems completely out of control. There’s something about working with your hands to make something –whether it’s a quilt, a garden, a wood-burned sign, a scarf, what have you — to be almost meditative, a way of centering and remembering what matters in life.

Not a crafter yourself? I also find that owning and using goods that are handcrafted by an artisan to just feel good. I love knowing that someone made the item I’m holding, that they held it and lovingly worked on each detail and then sent it out into the world. Of course no one’s home goods are completely handmade in this day and age, but having a tea towel here, a hand-poured candle there, and a few pieces of great accessories made by a small business owner can make your home feel just a little more … well, homey.

I plan to use this blog to focus on all aspects of crafting. I will share highlights of the finds I publish on my Instagram account (which you can see here at @happierhandmade), and I’ll also share thoughts and collections of info from around the Web about making crafts, marketing your crafts, using social media, and experimenting with DIY projects. I hope you’ll join me in this world of exploration.

 

 

Leave a Reply

