Artisan Interview: Green Stripe Designs

Welcome to our first artisan interview! Today we are chatting with Thomas of Green Stripe Designs, maker of faux taxidermy for home and nursery decor. I love his work and was excited to get a chance to talk with him!

Want to know more? You can find him on Facebook, and on Instagram, as well as on Etsy.

Q: How did you get started as a crafter?
My name is Thomas, I am a costume designer based in Greenville, SC. I’m married to my wonderful wife Meredith who supports my craftiness and everything that comes along with it! Green Stripe Designs started as a business adventure and has grown quicker than we planned. I started the faux taxidermy as gifts for a friend and then started to create more and different designs. We also added baby toys and tethers that will be reintroduced to the shop soon.

I started crafting as a kid with my mom, from paper crafts, clay, pipe cleaners, candy wrappers, etc. As I got older the craft projects became larger and when I learned to sew at college I was introduced to a whole new world.

Photo Jul 19, 11 36 38 AM(1)

They may look scary, but they’re very gentle. Greenstripe Designs

Q: What do the products you make say about you as a person? What parts of yourself do you see in them?
The products say a lot about me, my attention to detail and design. I never want an animal to look off or odd. I’m inspired by photos of the animal I’m working on and want to keep it as accurate as possible, while also keeping it kid friendly and fun. The first heads I made were based off a pattern and when people seemed interested I started to make the designs my own and create more. The design process for each animal can be tedious but they are so much fun to do and fun to see what they look like when I stuff them for the first time.

Photo Jul 19, 11 35 14 AM

A selection of finished taxidermy stuffies, GreenStripeDesigns

Q: Where do you work? C’mon, tell us about the giant pile of felt and stuffing that is on your dining room table. It’s okay. We understand.
I am fortunate enough to to have an office space to work in. My main job is a costume designer and many days I bring work home to do and have to have a place to do it! I have worked out of my bedroom in college, and then had  a sewing room in a large oversized closet.

Photo Jul 19, 11 36 23 AM

Photographing a narwhal – GreenStripeDesigns

Q: What’s the hardest part about being a handcrafted artisan?
The hardest part about it is finding the right people to buy your product. Whether at a craft fair or etsy you never know if the right person will come by or look on your website.

Photo Jul 19, 11 35 30 AM

GreenStripeDesigns at a recent craft fair

Q: What plans or goals do you have for your shop and your work in the next six months?
In the next six months I would like to double etsy sales and get into more local stores. Creating more heads that will reach out to more people.

A last look at a few of the creations from GreenStripe Designs.

Thank you again to Thomas for the interview! I hope you find his work as inspiring as I do. Also, just a reminder – if you missed it at the top of the article, you can see more of Thomas and his work on Facebook, and on Instagram, as well as on Etsy.

 

One thought on “Artisan Interview: Green Stripe Designs

Leave a Reply

