FAQ on Happier Handmade Features

Hello Happier Handmade fans! We are excited to announce that we have reached 10K followers on our instagram feed. Happier Handmade’s community is strong and growing and we love interacting with all of our followers on a daily basis.

As part of our next stage of growth, we are going to begin offering paid features on particular days of the week. Our community features – theme Tuesday, work in progress Wednesday – will always be free. In addition, we’re going to offer a Free Feature Friday every week in which we will choose great images from those who have been following, commenting, and tagging with #happierhandmade every week, to reward our loyal followers!

However, in between, if you’d really like to get some marketing material out there to the world and are tired of waiting for us to choose one of your pictures, you have the option of signing up for a paid feature to do so!

Want to apply? You can click here to get started, or read more information below.

FAQ on Happier Handmade Paid Features

  1. Do you feature everyone who applies?
    Unfortunately, we can’t feature everyone who applies. We will let you know by email if you’ve been accepted for a feature. Please watch the email you provide for us for information.
  1. How soon will I know if I’ve been accepted for a feature? What happens next?
    If you’ve been accepted for a feature, you will get an email from me within 2-7 days, and a paypal invoice for the feature. Once your invoice is paid, I will schedule your feature and let you know when it is going to run.
  1. What if I don’t hear back from you in seven days?
    While I will try to respond to everyone directly, if you don’t hear back within a week, you have not been chosen for a feature. There are many reasons that this might be the case, and I hope you won’t take them personally. Mainly, we are getting more requests than we can feature with only three postings a day. Second, we are looking for a certain type of picture that meets our design aesthetic.
  2. Will you use the picture I suggest, and will you edit it in any way?
    We will certainly consider your suggested pic, but we reserve the right to pick the image from either your instagram or your shop that we feel best meets our overall look and feel and represents your work in the best light! We will discuss with you the picture we hope to use. And yes, we will very likely crop and adjust lighting on your image if needed. Image rights remain yours, of course, and we will not reuse your image in any other locations other than the twitter and instagram feature you’ve paid for.
  3. Are there any particular things that will prevent my items from being featured?
    There are a few general guidelines I can offer. First, I don’t like to use watermarked images, or images with the orange Etsy tag prominently displayed in the middle of them. Second, I prefer to use images with backgrounds that are clean and uncluttered, and backgrounds that read as either light (white) or dark (wood, natural, or grass). Third, just as a matter of personal preference, I rarely use collage shots where multiple separate images are pasted together. Having multiple items in one shot is wonderful, but I find collage shots with lots of little squares too hard to visually “read” when they’re viewed on smaller devices.
  4. When will my feature run?
    I’m a bit of a planner, and I obsessively plan ahead on the feed. That said, I can generally fit any new paid feature in within the next 1-3 weeks.
  5. Will my feature be taken down after a period of time?
    Features are permanent on Happier Handmade! I love seeing how older pictures continue to get likes and follows as time goes by.
  6. Can I request that a feature be posted on certain dates?
    You can certainly ask! I can’t guarantee that I will be able to accommodate specific date requests as Happier Handmade has regular community features that go up on particular days of the week and because our feed is often pre-planned for the next few weeks.
  7. Do you have any material available that I can use to share that I’ve been featured?
    I do! If you are accepted, the email you receive will contain an image that you can use on your own Instagram feed to point your followers over to your feature. We love to see cross-posting!
  8. Can I reapply?
    Of course! There is no limit to the amount of times you can apply or be featured.
  9. What if I’m not happy with my results?
    We don’t guarantee any number of follows, likes, shop clicks, or sales from a feature on our site. What we do guarantee is that you will get exposure to a vibrant community of handmade enthusiasts, cross posting to multiple platforms, and ongoing engagement from your feature.

Ready to apply for a feature? Click here to start the application process!

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

